watch winding

• Please add our email support@horologyboard.com and/or domain horologyboard.com into your whitelist to make sure emails are not filtered or blocked. If you have registered but have not received your activation email, please check you spam/junk folder. If you still cannot find your email to activate your account, please Contact Us. Thank you.

ericocean

Feb 19, 2018
I'm new to the hobby and have always been concerned that I'm about to overwind the watches. I'm sure I'll get better at an understanding of over tightening the watch. Is this a major concern? I usually just wind them 10 or 12 times. How can I be sure I'm not about to over tighten it? Any help would sure be appreciated.
Thanks for your time,
Eric

WingNut

Idiot Savant and Good Dood
Ambassador
Feb 25, 2018
Wind your auto 30-40 turns...then wear it...you'll be good...

I try and wind all of my watches about 30 turns every few days just to keep things moving...whether I'm wearing them or not...

Quartz not withstanding LOL.

Reactions: Scott

WingNut

Ambassador
Feb 25, 2018
I've heard you can't overwind a watch...but I for one don't want to see how far I can go...

Wind slow and easy...you can feel when it is getting tight...then STOP...Like I said an auto...if you are wearing it...it will keep winding itself...I'm sure you know that...

OP
ericocean

ericocean

Feb 19, 2018
Oh yeah I do, just didn’t want to break anything.
I’ve already had one expensive mistake by pulling the stem out of a brand spanking new ARF Sub. Beautiful watch. Then sent it back only to get caught up in customs. So I guess I’m a little gun shy.

WingNut

Ambassador
Feb 25, 2018
Gently my friend...unfortunately these are reps not gens...that being said...I handle all of my watches like eggs...

WingNut

Ambassador
Feb 25, 2018
And just so you know...I have had some come apart in my hands...nature of the beast...It sucks, but it happens...

MrTimeZone

Trusted Dealer
Feb 28, 2018
www.mrtimezone.net